Knitting Ministry

While prayer shawls are our first love, we continue to seek new ways in which we can share our talents with the larger community. One of our earliest ventures was support for the Christmas at Sea program, sponsored by Seamen’s Church Institute.  Since the Spanish American War in 1898, this mission of the Episcopal Church has been distributing hand knit garments to mariners who are far from home at the holiday season. The knit garments are symbols of SCI’s mission of hospitality.  At Trinity, we make hats, scarves and cowls to support this program.

Closer to home, we’ve been making items for the Visiting Nurse Service of New York (VNSNY).  The receiving blankets, baby hats and booties support the Nurse Family Partnership program that serves pregnant and newborn mothers. Hats, mittens and scarves for older children become part of the FRIENDS program which serves children who are either receiving care themselves or who have a family member who is receiving services from VNSNY.

 We are also part of a nation-wide program that focuses on preventing child abuse, known as the "purple hat" project. The program is sponsored by  clickforbabies.org  and was developed to help new parents understand and cope with the leading trigger for infant abuse: frustration with infant crying. Helping caregivers to understand this normal part of an infant’s development (which usually disappears by four months) is a key to preventing Shaken Baby Syndrome. Infant sized purple hats are made for hospitals in our state to distribute to all children born in the months of November and December.

We welcome all skill levels from beginners to expert.  If you haven't practiced your craft in some time,  we can help you refresh your talents and we have patterns for simple projects to help you get started again.  If you haven’t learned a needle skill in the past, we'll teach you!  And we’re always happy to accept donated materials – just bring them to a meeting or to a Sunday coffee hour (10:45 AM, Parish Hall).

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, May 30:
Tuesday, May 30:
Thursday, June 1:
Tuesday, June 6:
Tuesday, June 6:
Thursday, June 8:
Tuesday, June 13:
Tuesday, June 13:
Thursday, June 15:
Tuesday, June 20:
Tuesday, June 20:
Thursday, June 22:
Tuesday, June 27:
Tuesday, June 27:
Thursday, June 29:
Tuesday, July 4:
Tuesday, July 4:
Thursday, July 6:
Saturday, July 8:
Save the date!!  Trinity Parish is happy to announce its first annual Summer Carnival.  Join us for food, fun and games on parish grounds.  More details to follow! Read more
Tuesday, July 11:
Tuesday, July 11:
Thursday, July 13:
Tuesday, July 18:
Tuesday, July 18:
Thursday, July 20:
Tuesday, July 25:
Tuesday, July 25:
Thursday, July 27:
Tuesday, August 1:
Tuesday, August 1:
Thursday, August 3:
Tuesday, August 8:
Tuesday, August 8:
Thursday, August 10:
Tuesday, August 15:
Tuesday, August 15:
Thursday, August 17:
Tuesday, August 22:
Tuesday, August 22:
Thursday, August 24: